Yabatech Contingent Excels At Nbte/nipossga 2018

Download Yabatech News Android App


Yabatech Contingent Excels At Nbte/nipossga 2018

The sport team of Yaba College of Technology (Yabatech) performed extraordinarily at the just concluded 19th National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) Nigeria Polytechnic Senior Staff (NIPOSSGA) hosted by Institute of Management and Technology (IMT) Enugu.

The bi-annual Nigeria Polytechnic sport competition that occurred from April 19th to 28th 2018 was highly competitive, in which 38 polytechnics keenly contested for medals.

Yabatech contingent that was led by the Chief Coach Mr. Yamala Frederick who also doubles as Public Relation Officer (PRO) of NIPOSSGA; vigorously participated in 17 games and won 9 medals.
The Yabatech football team got to the final and defended the one goal scored in the first half till 88 minutes when Federal Polytechnic Offa equalized and eventually won the game through penalty shoot-out.
The victory of Offa Poly was made possible due to the presence of all their Management team in the final; which was a huge motivating factor for them and because of their intention to host the next competition.
The Chief football coordinator for the competition, Mr. Yamala Frederick thanked Yabatech Management headed by the Rector Engr. Obafemi Omokungbe for the timely release of fund that made their participation a reality, and promised that the sport team led by him would perform better at the 20th NBTE/NIPOSSGA competition to be hosted by Offa Poly in 2020.

The distinguished Yabatech medalists in the competition are: Benedicta Okorujior (Ludo) Gold, Adesola Olumide (Table Tennis) Bronze, Alabi Oluwole (Table Tennis) Bronze, Akinola Deborah (Ludo) Silver, Onikute Beatrice 3 medals (Monopoly) Silver, (Ayo Yoruba Category) Silver, (Ayo Ibo Category) Silver, Ademola Oyebanji (Chess Classical) Bronze. The football team that won Silver are: Eesa Muritala (Goal keeper), Ademowo Adewale (Defender), Oro Jimoh (Defender), Ogunyemi Dada (Defender), Arowosile Rotimi (Defender), Adedokun Lateef (Defender), Akuneto Uzorma (Defender), Akintoye Ganiyu (Midfielder), Adebesin Oluwole (Midfielder), Viegbise Monday (Midfielder), Ojediran Sunday Captain of the team (Attacker), Adebayo Adeniran (Attacker), Abayomi Lukmon (Attacker), Takuro Joshua (Attacker), Ajiboye Remi (Attacker), Usman Suleiman (Attacker), and Sule Olatunji (Attacker).